Tahlia McGrath wins Twenty20 Player of the Year post 2022

Tahlia McGrath hailed her accolade as the ICC Women’s Twenty20 International Cricketer of the Year as a “special” accolade following her impressive run in 2022.

McGrath scored 435 runs in 16 matches at an average of 62.14 and took 13 wickets for the year, ahead of India star Smriti Mandhana, Pakistan all-rounder Nida Dar and New Zealand captain Sophie Devi to win the prestigious award.

The award is a remarkable rise for the 27-year-old from Adelaide, who first played for Australia in ODIs in 2016 but only made his T20I debut in October 2021.

She started 2022 with an unbeaten 91 off just 49 balls and took three wickets against England and ended the year with more exceptional performances on the tour of India, where she captained Australia for the first time in the absence of Meg Lanning and Alyssa Healy.

“It’s an absolute honor to win it,” McGrath said, reflecting that it was his highlight He won gold at the Commonwealth Games in Birminghamduring which he scored 128 runs at an average of 42.66.

“I’m very lucky to play in the team I do and I’m lucky to play with some of the best players in the world. It’s pretty special.”

McGrath’s teammate Darcie Brown missed out on the ICC Women’s Player of the Year award after being shortlisted, with the award going to another pace prospect, India’s Renuka Singh.

The men’s equivalent award went to South Africa’s 22-year-old bowling all-rounder Marco Jansen, ahead of India’s Arshdeep Singh, Afghanistan’s Ibrahim Zadran and New Zealand’s Finn Allen.

Leave a Comment